My journey from couch to 26.2

Archive for September 14, 2012

Week 1 Concludes: Long, slow (really slow) run

Week 1 / Day 3

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Week of September 9 (20) Rest Rest 3 run 5 pace 3 run Rest 9 miles

Friday, September 14, 2012

9 miles planned / 9 miles completed

21 miles completed / 20 miles planned for the week

21 miles completed so far in training

Stats from the run: Total time:1:50:12 for 9 miles / Average pace: 12:03/mile

Splits:

Mile 1 – 10:47

Mile 2 – 12:59

Mile 3 – 11:18

Mile 4 – 12:41

Mile 5 – 12:38

Mile 6 – 11:52

Mile 7 – 12:58

Mile 8 – 12:12

Mile 9 – 12:46

I did my long run a day early, and that was probably a mistake.  I planned to go around 9 but didn’t make it out until almost 11.  By then the sun was already high overhead and the humidity was out.  Oh well, I was set on doing it so I did!

My running routes at home are significantly hillier than those at work.  Mile 1-2 includes a steep uphill over the entire mile and then rolling hills the rest of the way.  The route at work has a hill or two but nothing crazy.

My plan was to run slower than my other training runs this week because I did those at marathon pace.  I did want to keep it in the 11-11:30 range, but my average pace equaled out to 12:03/mile.  I’ll take it since I did walk a couple of times, and it was so hot!  It made me question my ability to even run the marathon, let alone the two half marathons I signed up for next month.  My legs were sore by mile 7, but that might have been mental because my house was right at mile 7 and I had to run right by it!  That is tough!  But I realized I haven’t run 9 miles (or anything over 6) since the end of July, and this was the first 20+ mileage week I have had since about that time too.  I was slacking the later part of the summer!  It was still pretty disappointing to see all those slow mile times pop up on the gps watch.  But this is what training is all about!

This was the first time that I took my handheld water bottle on a run.  It worked well – it carried the water that I needed, but the top didn’t seem to close the entire way, so I spilled a significant amount of water on myself, which wasn’t cool.  It does have a pouch that would hold my Sports Beans and phone, but all handheld water bottles come with that.  I think I might have to return it and get a bottle that actually closes.  It wasn’t bad to carry on the run, because I could have water whenever I wanted, but the warmth of my hand did warm the water up pretty quickly. That would happen with any bottle.  But the whole spilling thing wasn’t cool.

This was also the first run that I used nutrition.  I took a pack of Sport Beans with me – fruit punch flavor! I started eating them around mile 3 and took them in groups of two or so.  They give your body carbohydrates for fuel on the run as well as some electrolytes and sodium.  I am not a fan of the gels; I prefer the Jelly Belly Sport Beans or the gummies made by Clif.  But everyone is different!

After the run, I came back and immediately had a protein shake to help the sore muscles, took two ibprofun and a hot shower, and I felt as good as new!  Just have to train the legs for the long runs!

So while today was tough, I realized that it is supposed to be.  I am training to run 26.2 miles in 18 weeks (17 since I completed week 1!). Hopefully next week’s long run will have a better report!