My journey from couch to 26.2

Archive for September 18, 2012

Run faster!

When I ran track in high school, my friend’s dad would sit in the stands and yell “Run faster!” when people went by where he was sitting.  So for at least my intermediate run this week, I ran faster.

Week 2 / Day 1

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Week of September 16  (20) Cross Rest 3 run 5 pace 3 run Rest 10 miles

Monday, September 17, 2012

0 miles planned / 6 miles completed

6 miles completed / 21 miles planned for the week

27 miles completed so far in training

Stats from the run:

Total time: 57:54 for 6 miles / Average pace: 9:38/mile

Splits:

Mile 1 – 9:55

Mile 2 – 10:08

Mile 3 – 9:21

Mile 4 – 9:29

Mile 5 – 9:45

Mile 6 – 9:15

I was so fast at the fun run! If it wasn’t for the huge hill at the end of mile 2, all of my mile times would have been under 10 minutes! And I negative split too! By almost a whole minute! Yes! First 3 miles: 29:24 / Last 3 miles: 28:29! I was en fuego!

I ran with someone new at the fun run, and she really pushed my pace. That 9:38/mile is an average of 40 seconds per mile under my goal marathon pace, and my last mile was a whole minute under marathon goal pace! I felt really good, and I wasn’t sore at all afterwards or even when I woke up this morning (12 hours later).

Maybe I really am faster than I think I am! I can’t wait until next week’s fun run to see if I can get even faster.

Unfortunately, today it rained all day and I didn’t get out for my lunchtime run. I really should get on the treadmill right now instead of writing this blog…it is only 3 miles…I should do it……