My journey from couch to 26.2

Push It

IN PROGRESS

Week 1

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Week of September 9 (20) Rest Rest 3 run 5 pace 3 run Rest 9 miles

Tuesday, September 11, 2012

3 miles planned

9 miles completed / 20 miles planned for the week

9 miles completed so far in training

Stats from the run: Total time: 29:15 for 3.01 miles  /  Average pace: 9:44/mile

Splits:

Mile 1 – 9:40

Mile 2 – 9:47

Mile 3 – 9:44

Today’s run was supposed to just be a “run” not a “pace run,” but I had other ideas.

This morning I woke up sore as all get-out!  My ankles, ANKLES, were sore. As the day went on, my back started to hurt as well.  As best as I can figure, the concrete sidewalks that I ran on for part of the fun run last night killed me.  I never run on concrete.  I mainly run on asphalt, and at home it is tarred/chipped roads and dirt/gravel roads.  I didn’t realize just how much different concrete is from other surfaces.  But it was a good learning experience because I think four or so miles of the Disney marathon is on concrete, so I need to get my body used to running on it.

Because of the soreness, I was not in high spirits as I headed out for my lunchtime run.  I was hungry, tired, and sore.  But I got my butt out of my chair and went for the run.

After seeing my great times for yesterday’s 6 miler, I was inspired to try and beat 10 minute/mile for the entire run.  As just a training run, I should have been running anywhere from 10:30/mile to 11:30/mile, but I wanted to push myself.

After I saw that my first mile was at 9:40, I knew that I could make it the other two.  It was warm and sunny, but there was a cool breeze. And now into almost the middle of September, the humidity is beginning to go away.

The run was tough, but I was glad that I ran it in the time that I did.  Tomorrow I am going to take it easier on myself…maybe.  I don’t want to run too hard and too fast all the time, but it is reassuring to know that I can run at my desired marathon pace, or under it, for a good amount of time.

And let’s not forget that this nice September 11th day is almost identical to that one 11 years ago.

Leave a comment