My journey from couch to 26.2

Doing runs for fun

Week 1 / Day 3

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Week of September 9 (20) Rest Rest 3 run 5 pace 3 run Rest 9 miles

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

3 miles planned / 3 miles completed

12 miles completed / 20 miles planned for the week

12 miles completed so far in training

Stats from the run: Total time: 31:27 for 3.09 miles /  Average pace: 10:11/mile

Splits:

Mile 1 – 10:19

Mile 2 – 10:25

Mile 3 – 9:53

My goal for today was to slow down on my run, but I still wanted to run a good pace.  I definitely accomplished that.  I wanted to run slower but still be within a 10:18/mile pace, and I averaged 10:11.

Nothing too exciting today, just the usual 3 mile loop at lunchtime.  It was a warm one today!  I was a little sore starting out, but it went away pretty quickly.  I am still feeling hamstring tightness – it has been bothering me since my 7k a month ago. I really need to get back to the gym and do some strength training on my legs.  I think that is the main problem – the only muscles in my legs that are getting stronger are the ones for running, and I need to work on the others.  Probably my glutes too because those don’t get worked very much during running.

Leave a comment